Our Strategy

The Marshall County Solid Waste District was formed in March 1991 to reduce household hazardous waste heading to the landfill and to save landfill space. In 2004, the District built the Recycle Depot to be a permanent, year-round problem waste facility. Our mission is to:

Promote Resource Conversation

through waste reduction, reuse, and recycling

Protect the Environment

through responsible household hazardous waste disposal

Prepare Marshall County for a Sustainable Future

through education & demonstration

The Board

The District is governed by a seven member board composed of local elected officials:

  • Three County Commissioners: Kevin Overmyer, Stan Klotz, and Mike Burroughs
  • One County Council member: Jesse Bohannon
  • One Plymouth Common Council Member: Greg Compton, Board President (2021)
  • The Mayor of Plymouth: Mark Senter
  • The Town Manager of Bremen: Trend Weldy

The Board holds monthly meetings and has the responsibility of approving all financial matters, hiring staff, creating policy, and adopting ordinances as needed to carry out the District’s programs. The public is welcome: the Board meets monthly on the first Monday from 1 – 2 p.m.


The Citizen’s Advisory Committee (CAC) is a group of representatives from the solid waste industry, environmental groups, educators and citizens of Marshall County who are knowledgeable and interested in environmental issues. The CAC meets every other month to assist the District in achieving its goals. If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact the District office.

The Staff

  • Executive Director: Marianne Peters
  • Education Coordinator: River Watson
  • Hazardous Materials Specialists: Tim Eads and Brent Corbett
  • Office Assistant/Bookkeeper: Jo Ann Peelle